buttons and beads, what more could you want?


I bought a top last week when I visited Bristol. can’t remember the last time I bought any clothes for myself, anyway, this is the top. its got gold printing along the bottom, and glass buttons on the top. but why, oh why are they red, when the top is purple? of course it gets me thinking, I could make those! they’re only a bead with one hole!!I shall make myself some purple ones!

Purple top, Red Buttons
Purple top, Red Buttons

Why, when you go to the effort of making a one holed bead, would you put decoration where you would have done on a normal 2 holed bead? especially when the reason for making a one holed bead is so that the non holed end is the FRONT?

so, my buttons will of course be having the flowers(or other decorative element) on the end, not only the sides.

Purple top, Red Button
Purple top, Red Button

so, here are my first few attempts, as you can see, with a flower on the end, or at least a spiral of goldstone stringer…gotta put that there, the tops got gold on! the button on the right is clio, and it does not like the light tent, its very pretty in daylight, warmer amber pink with lilac sheen.

Glass Buttons
Glass Buttons

I’m pretty pleased with them, I love the pale green ones but I have no idea what I would put them on. I’ve got a lonely wonky one that’s going for a washing machine test very soon. I’ve used surgical steel for the loops, no rust, no flaking plating, no allergies.

Traditional Floral Bead
Traditional Floral Bead

I grew up surrounded by beads of all kinds, glass , plastic, fimo, big, small, every type of bead you can imagine. although of course in recent years the market has grown and very different types of bead have emerged, not least the silver cored variety, and of course I’m now making glass beads, so I know more now what goes into the beads I used to use.

This floral is a style of bead that has never really gone away. its popularity I’m sure is rooted in its simplicity. Maybe its something about thick encased clear over flowers, it is loved by so many different kinds of people. for me, its the fact its got pink on it without being a pink bead. I’m about to embark on reinventing this bead style, having been inspired by the buttons, but of course, to reinvent anything, you must be able to make it the ‘normal’ way first! I’m nearly there, need to work on a few less bubbles in my encasing! its also, pretty round (as in spherical) which I did do on purpose and Im pretty pleased with. OMG I’m making round encased florals…what’s going on? two things I had given up hope on being able to make!

spiral core beads
spiral core beads

These are something simple I’ve begun work on, again Clio on the right is not liking the light tent. I see a button spiral core floral fusion in my future…

murrini tester beads
murrini tester beads

more messing around, haven’t made any new murrini canes in a while, so I made this one, these are just test beads to see the different effects of encased, unencased and various ways of applying this murrini…on a spiral core bead base of course!

Leave a Reply

