Been Experimentin’


few new things for me this week, well not new exactly, I’ve known about them a long while, just never actually got around to doing them properly. one of those, ‘oh I’ll try that some time’ type of things. anyway, here they are, first, Silvered Ivory stringer, ‘what?!’ say the lampworkers among you, ‘you’ve never tried silvered ivory stringer?’ no, actually, I never have even so much as made a piece of silvered ivory stringer. I guess its because I’m not and ‘earthy’ colours sort of person. I just never really thought it was for me.

Silvered Ivory Stringer Beads
Silvered Ivory Stringer Beads

anyway, I etched some of them too, this is also fairly new to me, I’ve had the stuff for ages, Mum uses it to selectively etch of Dichroic for her work, but I’ve never had any great success. I have decided that this was because I never really made anything for etching on purpose. Di East’s demo at the flame off made me feel much better about using the nasty chemically ick that is etching fluid, thanks Di!

so, my etched beads look like this:

Etched Beads
Etched Beads - work in progress

my second new thing that I’ve known about ages and never done is intense black webbed stringer, so I’ve been playing with that. decided the stringer needs to be even finer than the one I started with!

Webbed Beads - Experiments
Webbed Beads - Experiments
Webbed Effect
Webbed Effect

of course you will notice that most of these beads are based on my earlier, ‘spiral cores’. I’m seeing lots of potential in these beads.

I’m now feeling comfortable enough with my shaping that I can make random nugget shapes on purpose (I could make them before but they would have just looked like a cover up of a wonky bead…or at least that’s what I’d know they were!) so, a very small selection of nugget shaped beads, they look a bit sad with only three, so I’ll have to make them some friends!

Nugget/Pebble Beads
Nugget/Pebble Beads

and just because you have to see the full glowing inner spiral cored beautifulnes of this one…here’s lots of pics!

my favourite...
my favourite...
my favourite again
my favourite again
and again...
and again...
and again...
and again...
and again...
and again...
Once more,
Once more, I'm Sorry, actually, no, I'm not, I love this bead!

I also cant wait to get my hands on my new lentil press (side rant, the bank wanted to charge me £17.50 to transfer the money to the Netherlands! I’m sorry, did you say £17.50?, yes that’s the standard charge, can you cancel that for me right now please? she wasn’t even going to tell me, it was only because I happened to ask! seventeen pounds fifty…for what? someone to press a button?!)

anyway, I couldnt resist seeing how some of these new colour combinations might look on a lentil-ish bead.

I made some of these pendant lentils, which are lentil shaped at the top, and at the bottom they are more rounded, almost egg-like. they feel really nice in your hand and should hang nicely.

Egg Lentil!
Egg Lentil!
Leave a Reply

