Back to Dichroic


Every now and again I come back to Dichroic glass.

I have a bit of a love hate relationship with it. I love the colours, I hate that its a finicky pest to use. Sometimes I just think its too sparkly, but it always sells, so I have to make some!

I’ve been working on ideas I’ve had for a themed bead swap… the themes are:

Playing with silver glass
Fun at the seaside (inspired by sublime kates awesome reef beads)
Oooo those summer nights

I’ve already posted my pebble beads,for the seaside one, and here’s a couple more:

barnacled pebbles, light and dark grey
barnacled pebbles, light and dark grey

I will etch these when I’m doing a batch, theyre just more pebbley that way!

these are my beads so far for the summer nights ones:

Dichroic summer nights
Dichroic summer nights
Dichroic summer nights
Dichroic summer nights

ridged white base, pink , Dichroic and some handmade heart murrini on two of them. these are slightly, shall we say…organic in shape because the little beasties came loose on their mandrels before I’d finished them!

I’d like to do some with stars instead of hearts, but I need to make that murrini first!

green sparkly bead
green sparkly bead

tried one in green too, but this ones really wonky! pretty colours though, I’ll make more!

I’m thinking as I live by the seaside and I tend to only make beads in the evenings, my beads may end up being all three themes rolled into one – ooo those summer nights at the seaside playing with silver glass!

Leave a Reply

