Another new tool


ok, so I couldn’t help it, I saw that Graceful Customs had made a bigger version of the tool I love so much, the roll about masher, so I had to get it didn’t I? (shame some certain people got their sticky paws on it…£11.31! ouch)

anyway, a comparison of the little one and the bigger one,

various shapes from the small mashers
various shapes from the small mashers
various shapes from the small mashers - ends
various shapes from the small mashers - ends
three mashed beads
three mashed beads

these three were all mashed with different tools, the left hand one with the bent sheet steel style mashers, not at all parallel and it shows.I heated it quite alot to round the edges. the second was started with the same tool, but then squeezed flatter with my parallel mashers, which I find awkward as they are plier style, but huge, I can hardly get my hand around them, which is why I have to do a pre-squish with the others! the third is done with the small roll about mashers, and to me, this is a much more pleasing shape, and easier to get the chill marks out.

Small one, Big one
Small one, Big one

the left hand one is one from the small mashers, and the other from their bigger brother. Initially I made a similar sized bead and used the big mashers on it, and the effect wasn’t that great, so I tried a much bigger bead, and being in proportion to the bigger masher, rather than the smaller one, it works well.

its not a case of  ”this beads a little bit big for the smaller mashers, I’ll just use the big ones’  you have to start out meaning to use the big ones, or the bead just doesn’t look nice. by which I mean the bead just has to be alot bigger.

Small one, Big one, ends
Small one, Big one, ends

I still prefer the shape the smaller mashers give, the edges are alot more tapered, giving a slimmer effect.

Big beads
Big beads
Big beads
Big beads

a couple more beads made with the bigger mashers, I’m pleased with them, but this is a different animal to the smaller ones, not just a bigger version, the curve is different for one thing. still, I am pleased with them, because, although not the same shape as the little ones, Its a shape I like. I’ve never really liked a flat mashed bead, I like curves, and this is what this tool gives, the effect of a large mashed bead, but with softly curving edges

Leave a Reply

