it all comes around again – designing full circle


I’m having a great time with style fusions at the moment, by which I mean the integrating of 2 of more of my previous designs to make a new one.

this is the current one, it started life as a large lentil bead that popped into my head one morning, featuring a flower motif I had toyed with a while back but never really pursued.

The first polka dot flower flower lentil
The first polka dot flower flower lentil

the flower has gone through a few changes and style variations, and become a ring top in some of them, but until now, just the flower

Original style rose ring top
Original style rose ring top
a silver glass 2 layered variant
a silver glass 2 layered variant
the first in the anemone styles
the first in the anemone styles
anemone mark 2
anemone mark 2
triple layer, no centre dots
triple layer, no centre dots
same again in red
same again in red
and finally...
and finally...

actually, it probably isnt final at all, I’m sure there will be more style variations. my next plan is to do one of these in the original yellow green and red colourway. plus I have another bead in mind to go sticking these flowers onto!

it occurs to me that some of my best designs have been style fusions, bunny beads got mentioned in a forum post about ring tops and bunny ring tops were born, midnight shores came from a previous design but in an utterly different organic colourway, as opposed to the super brights I was working with.

watch this space for more style fusions!

I think this could be a fantastic way of restarting your inspiration when feeling a little mojo-less. get your box of beads that you liked enough to keep, or versions that didnt quite work out so you kept anyway,  pick 2 or more, and style fuse them!

One thought on “it all comes around again – designing full circle

Leave a Reply

